How to become a copywriter (curated resources)

Alexander Lewis
2 min readDec 1, 2020
Source: Stencil

I am a full-time freelance SaaS copywriter. I’m regularly asked how to get started as a copywriter. I created this curation piece as a place to store my thoughts / ideas / tactics for being a successful copywriter.

I plan to update this document regularly as I write new articles about the craft and business of writing. If you want regular writing advice from me, you can also subscribe to my newsletter: The Craft and Business of Writing.

  1. How to Become a Freelance Copywriter in 2021

I tried to cover all the big, intimidating subjects I wished someone had taught me when I was just starting to freelance, including:

How to set your rates as a freelance copywriter
- Where to find freelance projects
- How to prep for tax season
- Picking a niche vs being a generalist
- Where to learn copywriting formulas and best practices
- And much, much more

2. Think Like a SaaS Copywriter: How to Write Website Copy that Converts (With Examples)

In this article, I covered eight tactics Sarabeth and I regularly use to improve conversions when writing copy for SaaS websites. They include:

  • Let customers write and structure your copy
  • Use customer-first language
  • Make your copy memorable by avoiding jargon
  • What will the reader miss out on if they don’t choose you?
  • Write to your customer’s stage of awareness
  • Show the human side of your brand, without forgetting you’re a business
  • Make it easy to purchase from you
  • Show some social proof

3. 11 Ways to Find Freelance Writing Jobs (Yes, Even Now)

Here, I went deep into some of the most common tactics we’ve used to find freelance copywriting clients. Here are all the points:

  • Browse social media search engines
  • Join industry-specific Facebook Groups
  • Find growing markets
  • Tap into your network
  • Tie your income to results
  • Teach your skills
  • Try freelance sites
  • Go local
  • Create a referral program
  • Solve problems in public
  • Partner up

4. 26 Tips for Becoming a Top-Paid Freelance Copywriter

In this article, I detailed the best tactics I know for commanding higher rates as a freelance copywriter. They include: speaking at industry events, niching down, value billing (instead of hourly), and learning technical skills.

--

--

Alexander Lewis

Finding focus in the age of distraction | Freelance writer with bylines in Adweek, The Next Web, Foundr, and Built In www.lewiscommercialwriting.com